h1

The Title

September 8, 2008

I have just updated the blog to reflect the new, and nearly but not quite set in stone, title of the book, Managing Writers: A Real World Guide to Managing Technical Documentation People, Projects, and Technology. I’m still not 100% sure whether I want to use the word Documentation or Communication; your thoughts are welcome.

The other news is that the end is in sight; there are still a few sections left to go, plus some serious editing, but the basics are in place, and I’m pleased with the result (if not the speed with which I’ve gotten there:).

3 comments

  1. I prefer documentation.

    Myself and a colleague from the documentation team were discussing this very topic over lunch yesterday. She asked me if I call myself a “technical writer” or a “technical communicator”. I told her I always describe myself as a “technical writer” even though I think “technical communicator is more descriptive. Outside of the industry nobody has even heard the term “technical communicator”.


  2. Personally I’d go with Communication, as the industry is spreading out more and more into online information and away from the ‘document-centric’ view.

    Just my opinion..


  3. Thanks for your comments; as a follow up, I just spoke with someone who suggested that I drop “People, Projects, and Technology” from the title. I’m not 100% sure I’ll do that, though it does seem to be the “Strunk and White” thing to do:). Any thoughts on that?



Leave a Reply

