h1

Some thoughts and questions

April 12, 2007

First off, I apologize for missing a week of sections. I over-committed myself last week and into this week, and I’ve had trouble keeping up. But, I’ll be back with a new posting in a few days and will be back on track.

In the meantime, I’ve been considering a few questions and would welcome any comments:

  1. How much of the basics of technical writing should I include? I’ve been writing a chapter titled “The Elements of Technical Writing,” which is meant to give managers who aren’t technical writers a better idea of what technical writing is all about. But, I don’t know if it makes sense to expand that into a more detailed tutorial that could be used by new technical writers. Since there’s already a lot of good material available in other books, I’m not sure how useful it would be. Any thoughts?
  2. My list of the Elements of Technical Writing are the following: product/service, developers, audience, tasks, deliverables, writing environment (tools, etc.), and schedule. Did I miss anything important?

Right now, besides the Elements chapter, I’ve got a chapter on planning percolating, so I hope to be back at full speed posting to the site very soon.

Leave a Reply

